COST CSPP Calling for Reforms

July 5, 2017

Dear Elected Official:

The 2017 Civil Grand Jury has issued three reports about unfunded retirement costs, which, of itself, indicates the urgency of the problem.

1. Marin’s Retirement Health Care Benefits

2. The Budget Squeeze: How Will Marin Fund Its Public Employee Pensions

3. The Big Picture: Funding Marin’s Public Employee Pensions and Retirement Health Care Benefits.

The Coalition of Sensible Taxpayers (CO$T) joins the authors of the Civil Grand Jury reports and the members of Citizens for Sustainable Pension Plans (CSPP) in calling for reforms

http://www.marinij.com/opinion/20170624/marin-voice-are-marin-officials-going-to-listen-to-the-grand-jury

CO$T members know from experience that unfunded pension and post-employment health benefits obligations are prompting municipalities, schools, and special districts to seek tax and rate increases — often in glossy language that hides the true reason for the increase. Our mission is to inform ratepayers about taxes and fees that are unaffordable, unfair, lack transparency, or are forcing cuts to services.

CO$T encourages you to endorse the Grand Jury recommendations and take bold and immediate steps to reform the unsustainable pension and post-employment health care system that is undercutting government services.

Sincerely,

COST CORE TEAM

Mimi Willard, Carsten Andersen, Doug Kelly, Susan Kirsch & Paul Premo

 
 

https://www.marincounty.org/depts/gj/reports-and-responses/reports-responses/2016-17/the-big-picture
https://www.marincounty.org/depts/gj/reports-and-responses/reports-responses/2016-17/the-budget-squeeze

https://www.marincounty.org/depts/gj/reports-and-responses/reports-responses/2016-17/marins-retirement-health-care-benefits

 
 

Sent to these elected officials:

Marin County Supervisors and County Administrator

Damon Connolly dconnolly@marincounty.org

Judy Arnold jarnold@marincounty.org

Dennis Rodoni drodoni@marincounty.org

Katie Rice krice@marincounty.org

Kate Sears ksears@marincounty.org

Matthew Hymel mhymel@marincounty.org

Governor Jerry Brown: governor@governor.ca.gov

Congressman Jared Huffman: CA02JHima@mail.house.gov; jenny.callaway@mail.house.gov

State Assembly Marc Levine: Assemblymember.Levine@assembly.ca.gov

State Senator Mike McGuire: senator.mcguire@senate.ca.gov

 
 

Copies Sent to:

Marin Independent Journal Opinion Page Editor Brad Breithaupt: opinion@marinij.com

Marin Independent Journal Columnist Dick Spotswood: spotswood@comcast.net

Marin Post: marinpost@comcast.net

Marin County Grand Jury Foreman Jay Hamilton-Roth: j@manygoodideas.com

Marin County Grand Jurors’ Association President Jack Nixon: jgnixon@sonic.net

 
 

COST CSPP Calling for Reforms
%d bloggers like this: